Navigate threads:
< Previous Thread :: Next Thread >

^ Top
Dave Johns

User Profile

Subject : Delamination After Removing Veneer Tape
Posted : 2022-05-03 1:49 PM
Post #38016

Forgive me if this is a dumb question as I am fairly new to veneer work.

I have been experimenting with veneer panels and the latest one involves a quilted maple field and makore border separated by a decorative line.

I used standard paper veneer tape to stitch the pattern together. The pattern was then pressed to a 1/8” baltic ply substrate along with a backer veneer. I used TBIII applied with a foam roller.

All went well until it came time to remove the veneer tape. I allowed the panel to fully cure over night before I removed the tape. In order to remove the veneer tape I applied water to the tape through a cotton rag using the water as sparingly as possible. The tape came off relatively easily, however, the moisture caused the maple veneer to bubble in places and actually delaminate in areas.

What am I doing wrong? Is this a result of a glue starved joint between the veneer and the substrate? The problem only seems to occur with the quilted maple veneer, is this veneer more porous and therefore require something different?

Any advice from more experienced veneer people would be greatly appreciated.
Attached file : IMG_0359 (7).jpeg (44KB - 7 downloads)

^ Top
Darryl Keil

User Profile

Subject : RE: Delamination After Removing Veneer Tape
Posted : 2022-05-03 2:56 PM
Post #38017 - In reply to #38016

Was the delamination just where the quilted maple meets the inlay and the border? Were there any places out in the middle of the quilted maple where you taped it that delaminated as well?

^ Top
Dave Johns

User Profile

Posted : 2022-05-03 3:45 PM
Post #38018 - In reply to #38017