< Previous Thread :: Next Thread >

^ Top
Thomas Sharum

User Profile

Subject : Unibond 800 quantity calculations
Posted : 2021-07-11 8:16 AM
Post #37988

Hello,
This is my first post to this forum, and I new to veneering. I am building all new kitchen cabinets and I want to veneer Birdseye maple to all doors and drawers using Unibond 800. I will need a fair amount of glue so I don’t want to waste any. My question is this, I am looking for a mathematical formula as to how much of the three parts to mix and how many square inches that will cover. For maximum accuracy I want to do this by weight. Also because I’m new at this I want the longest open time. To simplify this ____ grams glue + ____ grams powder + ____ grams blocker = how many square inches of coverage. Sorry to be so long winded, I just don’t want to mix up too little or too much glue. Thanks in advanced for any and all responses.

^ Top
Don Stephan

User Profile

Subject : RE: Unibond 800 quantity calculations
Posted : 2021-07-11 12:46 PM
Post #37989 - In reply to #37988

The amount used per square foot will vary, possibly a lot, depending on the application method you use, how much remains in the mixing container and the mixing device, how absorptive the substrate is, and how thick a layer of glue is left on the substrate.