Navigate threads:
< Previous Thread :: Next Thread >

^ Top
John Obrien

User Profile

Subject : Flattening Veneer
Posted : 2017-05-04 10:13 PM
Post #37621

I am attempting to "condition" some dry and brittle veneer. I made up a solution of water, glue, alcohol, and glycerin and am ready to start the process. I don't know how long the veneer should have this solution on it, as I have never done this before. Should the veneer actually soak in this solution for a hour or so or should I just brush it on. I want to be sure that the veneer has totally absorbed the solution before I start the drawn out process of drying it out.
I assume some of you have done this before and could offer some suggestions. I thank you in advance!

^ Top
Don Stephan

User Profile

Subject : RE: Flattening Veneer
Posted : 2017-05-05 7:23 AM
Post #37623 - In reply to #37621

Sometimes I have flattened veneer and gotten perfect results, sometimes after drying the veneer was less wrinkly but not fully flat.

The last time, I brushed the solution on liberally with a 3" or 4" wide foam brush, placing each wetted leaf in the sandwich of vinyl window screen and dry newsprint or similar paper before wetting the next leaf. It might be interesting to apply to a piece of scrap veneer, then break apart to check for penetration, but I can't imagine the thin veneer would not have been wetted through and through at that point.

I used the vacuum bag and changed the paper twice the first and second days, ceased use of the screening at the beginning of the 3rd day and I think changed the paper twice the 3rd and 4th days, after which the veneer seemed dry. Can't remember if I kept the veneer between boards with a weight on top after the 4th day.

^ Top
John Obrien

User Profile

Posted : 2017-05-05 8:53 AM
Post #37625 - In reply to #37623